So, what do you have for me?

One of the questions I dread being asked by both my vocal coach and singing teacher is just this, “what do you have for me?” or basically, “what songs are we going to work on today?” I really struggle to learn music, to the point that a particularly difficult aria can take up to a month before I can even sing the notes in vaguely the correct order. When I was younger, that wasn’t the case. I picked up melodies within a week and loved the notion of being handed new repertoire to learn. Perhaps the difference between then and now is that I don’t just have school work to do and maybe, more to the point, the repertoire I’m now being set is pretty difficult.

I’ve been working on Puccini’s Un Bel Di Vedremo since the start of term 5 weeks ago and though it wasn’t quite ready, Alison Wells, my wonderful singing teacher, convinced me to sing it in Song Class. She argued that sometimes it’s helpful to sing a song that’s not ready to an audience, especially an informal one made up of only my peers and so I did just that. Here’s a link to the video of that performance:

There’s a couple of untidy entries on there but the good news is, I now know exactly how to sing these correctly in the future so Alison’s advice really was spot on! I look forward to singing it in public on the 21st November at a concert in Mile End.

In the meantime, I’m learning Ich Ging Zu Ihm by Korngold and Elgar’s Pleading. I’m just hoping the process speeds a long a little so I have a long list next time I’m asked “What do you have for me?”

Leave a Reply

